And on the sixth day…

…he nursed.

As a brand spanking new mom, I had plans on keeping my little one swaddled in my arms for at least 6 weeks. We would not leave the house. He would not so much as breathe a breath that was not first breathed by me.

If you ask my husband he will tell you I am known for my Disney like fantasies.

This indeed was a fantasy. Reality hit with a bite from my precious newborn only an hour old. Nursing was not going to be an easy feat. In fact, it was harder than the morning/noon/night sickness that plagued me for 3 trimesters. It was harder than emergency surgery and bed rest. It was harder than 27 hours of labor. It was harder than pushing. It was and still is hard.

I was pumping every 2-3 hours which was a nightmare but I was grateful to be producing milk for bottle feeding. Pumping brought a whole new set of worries. What about nipple confusion? Will he reject me? He’d already been given a pacifier by a well meaning nurse, although I wanted to wait until breastfeeding was firmly established before offering one. I mean, that is what the experts say you are supposed to do after all. The pacifier turned out to be a blessing because my baby boy thought anything that entered his mouth was supposed to be bitten. OUCH.

On day 6 of my son’s life I bundled him up and I asked my husband to take me to the breast feeding support group offered at the hospital. I needed help!

I walked into the class late, of course.  (I have not been on time for anything since my son was born.) The room was filled with nursing moms. Most had their boobs out and were effortlessly feeding their children. I wanted to be them.

My breast were full and sore as I listened to each mom introduce herself and her baby. What am I going to say when it becomes my turn? Hi. My name is Kim. I have no clue what I am doing. HELP!!!!!!

I had no pride. I felt no shame. I gave no care about what others might have thought.

I anxiously awaited my turn, fighting back tears of stress and anxiety. Then another mom spoke. Her baby was born one day before mine. She had the exact same struggles I had. She burst into tears.

And so did I.

The lactation consultant offered her a one on one. From across the room I said, possibly yelled, “Me, too! Can I go, too?” Sensing my need, her sweet reply was, “Yes, lets go into the consult room now.”

With the gentle but firm hands of the lactation consultant guiding me, I was able to nurse my son for the first time. I heard him swallow and in my naivety I asked, “Is he doing it?”

“Yes,” the consultant said, beaming with joy.

I cried. Oh, I cried an ugly cry. I am not sure how my baby stayed latched. And then…

The lactation consultant cried with me.

Oh the sweet joy of motherhood.

I-Make-Milk.-What-Is-Your-Superpower

 

14 thoughts on “And on the sixth day…

  1. Wow kim you know how to make a grown man tear up in front of his co workers. Adrienne and I know this struggle very well….. You are an awesome mother. A very strong woman. MOTHERS ROCK

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Motherhood is the hardest job that you will ever do and question yourself every step of the way. Great job Sis! This is the best journey of your life.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This story brought ‘joyful’ tears to my eyes. Thank GOD ALL MIGHTY for the Lactation Consultant! And, for STRONG and DETERMINED Young Moms!
    I Love you Kimberly.
    LeLe

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m balling over here. We did not have the same struggles you faced, but I shared in the fears, self doubt, and rejoicing in a successful latch. I highly recommend breastfeeding and mom support groups, no matter the level of difficulty or ease. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  5. Great story, Kim! You were one determined new mom when it came to breastfeeding. LOVED having you in our group and getting to know you, and watching your baby grow and thrive over the first few months! Thanks for sharing your story as it is very inspirational to other new moms who are struggling.

    Like

  6. Wow! This is truly beautiful and I can completely relate!!! My daughter and I went to support group on day 7 and there was also another there with a baby the same age. We needed support and I’m so grateful for breastfeeding support groups!! Breastfeeding was much much harder than I could have ever imagined!

    Like

  7. Minute by minute became day by day until I just stopped counting, cringing, and crying. It worked. We worked. Together. My baby and I were doing it. Because of that support group we did it. They were right, it was so worth it.

    Like

  8. Torn over what to be more proud of… How well you express yourself or how well you care for our son. Hate that I’m so late reading these!

    Better late than never,

    Hubby

    Like

Leave a Reply

