My New Classroom

For the first time in 3 years I will not walk into a classroom and welcome a new group of students. Out of habit I saved all sorts of classroom organizers and first week of school activities on Pinterest. Then it hit me…I am a stay-at-home mom (also known as a domestic engineer). POW!

SLPS Badge
ID from my first year teaching.

 

I have traded the often dreaded BBC (bulletin board configuration for my non teacher friends) for a updated whiteboard calendar with family activities and weekly meal plans.

I have traded trips to the teacher store with trips to Once Upon a Child and Babies “R” Us.

I have traded planning field trips for weekly trips to the library and visiting the MO Botanical Gardens, Laumeier Sculpture Park, Forest Park, and more.

I have traded beloved third grade novels such as Charlotte’s Web and the I Survived series for First 100 Words and a slew of board books.

I have traded The Daily Five for sensory bags and tummy time.

20160816_101450
Enjoying sensory bags at playtime.

 

I have traded lesson plans and professional development for…..wait. I haven’t traded these. My lesson plans are the learning opportunities I create for my son. My professional development comes from the Bible, parenting books, support groups, my mommy friends, and countless conversations with my mother.

My classroom hasn’t disappeared; it has shifted. I am still a teacher. I am my child’s first teacher, his mother. I wouldn’t trade this job for anything.

 

 

 

 

Check out the link below if you are interested in creating these fun bags for your little explorer.

DIY Sensory Bags

3 thoughts on “My New Classroom

Leave a Reply

