Viva Las Vegas

…but I missed my baby though.

I have never been away from my son for more than two sleeps. So when I decided to attend my Sorority’s National Convention in Las Vegas and stay for six days I knew it would be a challenge.

The hardest part about leaving was the prep work it required. I prepared lunches and snacks, and planned easy dinners for my husband to make in my absence. I went through two boxes of ziplock bags. I bagged snacks, diapers, outfits, towels, bibs and anything else we use regularly by day. Just so there was no confusion.

To help my husband make it though this single dad experience I lined up baby sitters during the workday and a couple of overnight stays.  So it was off to grandparent’s house for the weekend. When my son is with them it’s like “mommy/daddy who?”

I had to power through that first three days because my mom did not send any pictures! Shame on her. I decided to believe they were having so much fun living in the moment that they couldn’t take photos. Thinking this helped me make it through those 72 hours.

I’d packed a separate diaper bag for the next three days of being without mommy. My husband sent him off to my aunt’s house for an overnight stay on Monday and she kept him during the day on Tuesday as well. Thankfully, she sent me several pictures. As an added bonus she was babysitting two of my nephews and another baby so he had plenty of fun with the other children. My aunt, however, will probably need a couple of months to recover from a house full of 4 boys, including 2 toddlers and 1 infant.

Overall, I enjoyed my mommy break even if it was a work-cation more than a vacation. By the last day of the trip, I was anxious, ready to go home. So of course my flight was delayed by 3 hours.

When I arrived home at 1:15 AM I placed my baby in the bed (despite my husband’s protests). I said, “Goodnight, Joseph.” His eyelids fluttered, opened then closed, and he smiled, “Eat. Eat,” came his reply.

3 thoughts on “Viva Las Vegas

Leave a Reply

