The Last 100 Days

At the beginning of every year I hear the naysayers quip, “Why make resolutions? You won’t keep them.”  I optimistically make my list of resolutions and goals anyway. I see the posts on social media from the regular gym members complaining about the newcomers invading their space. “Don’t worry,” they say, “They’ll be gone in a couple of months or weeks.” So much for a little motivation. Maybe it is true and they will fall off the wagon but even if someone doesn’t stick with the a new workout regimen at least they had a couple of months of exercise. Something is better than nothing, right?

As the year moved along I started checking in on my own progress. I started the year with a Vision Board. I thought my goals were lofty, yet practical.

Autumn is here. Two-thirds of the year is behind me. I’ve made great strides with some of my goals and with others, I am still at the starting blocks.  I am staring at the question: So, Ms. Visionary-Goal Setter, what are you going to do now? Now is the time to put up or shut up. I want to look back on 2017 with pride, knowing that I tried.

I have heard it said that nothing beats a failure but a try. I have listened to several motivational speakers this year and one point has been consistent in each of their messages. In order to succeed you have to get familiar with failure. That is not to say that you will enjoy missing the mark. But you are not going to get anywhere being afraid of failure. Failing is inevitable. Ask the successful entrepreneurs of today and if they are honest they will share the stumbles and bumbles they had along the way. Winston Churchill said, “Success is the ability to go from failure to failure without losing your enthusiasm.”

I proclaimed that 2017 would be my year of failure. A  year to get some of the failing out of the way so I could lay the groundwork for success. I decided to get out of the way and embrace my fears. So what if I don’t know it all. I will find someone to teach me. So what if I can’t do everything, that won’t keep me from trying.

And in my search for failure I found success. I found the answers to questions I did not know I should ask. I found confidence and a resolve to do more today than I did yesterday. I found grace and the courage to give myself a break from the internal pressure and expectations to perform with perfection.

Now, as I look at my Vision for 2017, I am amazed at what I have accomplished. I may not have checked off every box on the list but the year is not over yet. I still have 100 days and I aim to finish strong like Kobe in 4th quarter.

What did you purpose in your heart to accomplish in 2017? What goals did you set? Dust off that list! It is not too late! You have 100 days.

Perhaps some of these goals resonate with you:

  • Do you desire to read through the Bible in a year? Check out this Read through the Bible in 90 days plan!
  • Do you want to lose weight? Aim to lose 1 to 2 pounds a week which is not only doable, but it is the best way to maintain weight loss. Forget those fad diets that promise quick results. You can still lose 14-28 pounds if you get started now. Not bad for the last 100 days!
  • Are you looking to improve relationships in your life? Send a card or a hand written note via snail mail to encourage someone or thank them for a job well done. How many of us actually get something other than bills in the mailbox? You just may make someone’s week and open the door for a deeper and more meaningful relationship. I bought 365 Thank Yous: The Year a Simple Act of Daily Gratitude Changed My Life on a whim some time ago. I am convinced that an expression of gratitude is a powerful way to cultivate relationships that may be waning or in need of some old fashion TLC.
  • Have you been putting off tedious household chores or projects? Try implementing Power Hour where you focus one hour a week on a task you’ve been postponing. One hour is reasonable. You will be done before you know it and that feeling of accomplishment will spur you into action the following week. Some of my power hour tasks have been: organizing the dishes in my cabinet, sorting clothes my son can no longer fit to prepare for donation or selling, setting up a play room, and color coding and weeding out my t-shirt collection.
  • Are you ready start a business or advance in your career? Find a class and attend with an open mind! This year I have completed the Workshop in Business Opportunity Class offered by Grace Hill Women’s Business Center and the Neighborhood Leadership Academy through the University of Missouri – St. Louis. Both classes provided me with a wealth of knowledge, tools, and resources to move forward with my career aspirations. In addition, I have met like minded entrepreneurs and community leaders who have encouraged me to put my ideas into action. If these don’t fit what you are looking for try a Google search or look at your local library or community college for a list of professional development courses.

What will you accomplish in the next 100 days? Share it with me. I’d love to cheer you on. Here’s to 100 days of action!

 

#MambaOut

One thought on “The Last 100 Days

Leave a Reply

